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Foster Parents only

Foster Intervention and Retention Support Team (FIRST)
is a resource that is available to foster parents to provide
you with assistance during a LD/CPS investigation. It also
provides referrals to community resources. You may
contact FIRST at 866-393-6186.

Child Care Providers may visit the DCYF website for
information and support at www.dcyfwa.gov.

Washington State Department
of Children, Youth & Families
Licensing Division

M5 Washington St. SE

PO Box 40981

Olympia, WA 98504

If you are an individual with a disability and are
concerned about your rights as provided under
the Americans with Disabilities Act, please view
the publication Public Notice of Nondiscrimination
(HR_0012) for further information and instructions
on how to file a complaint online at
www.dcyf.wa.gov/publications-library/HR_0012.

If you would like copies of this document in an alternative
format or language, please contact DCYF Constituent Relations
(1-800-723-4831 | 360-902-8060, ConstRelations@dcyf.wa.gov).
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Licensing Division/Child Protective
Services (LD/CPS) Investigation

What happens during a child
protective services investigation?

This brochure explains what happens when the
Washington State Department of Children, Youth
& Families (DCYF) receives a report of child abuse
or neglect about a person who is licensed or
subject to licensing by Washington State to care
for children. This includes foster homes, group or
residential care facilities, family child care homes,
child care centers, state-regulated facilities, and/
or staff working at any of these facilities.

What is an allegation?

When someone believes a child has been
abused or neglected, they may call DCYF to
report the allegation. Anyone who believes

that a child was abused or neglected may call
1-866-ENDHARM or 9-1-1 to make a report. If
the allegation happened in a facility licensed

to care for children, or subject to licensing, the
case is assigned to LD/CPS for investigation. LD/
CPS investigates allegations of physical abuse,
sexual abuse, negligent treatment, and/or
maltreatment, sexual exploitation, abandonment
and child fatalities.

What happens when LD/CPS investigates
allegations of child abuse or neglect?

The investigator will:

 Contact law enforcement, if necessary
e Interview the alleged victims

» Notify you about the allegations as soon as possible
without jeopardizing the investigation

« Give you an opportunity to respond to the allegations

¢ Interview witnesses and others who have relevant
information about the alleged incident

« Visit the facility to review files, policies, and to assess
the facility
« Consult with medical/psychological experts, if necessary

» Complete the investigation in a timely manner (Our
aim is to complete investigations within 45 days, but it
may take up to 90 days or longer if law enforcement
is involved - If you are concerned about how long the
process is taking, please contact the LD/CPS supervisor
in your area)

o Determine whether a child was abused or neglected
according to state law

 Send you a letter when the investigation is complete.
(The letter will tell you whether the finding was founded or
unfounded. If the allegations are founded, the letter will tell
you how to appeal the findings and the timeframe for appeal)

What are findings?

The LD/CPS investigator determines whether the allegation
rises to the level of child abuse or neglect as defined by
state law in RCW 26.44.020. An allegation is either founded
or unfounded.

Founded means: Based on the information available, it is
more likely than not that the abuse or neglect did occur.

Unfounded means: Based on the information available, it

is more likely than not that the abuse or neglect did not
occur, or that there was not enough evidence to determine
whether the alleged child abuse did or did not occur.

Even if the allegation is unfounded, your licensor may work
with you to address licensing violations that might have
been discovered during the investigation.

If your facility is not licensed, any concerns will be
forwarded to the program administrator.

LD/CPS also has the authority to complete risk only
investigations. A risk only investigation will assess the
present and future risk to children in the facility.

During the course of the investigation

you may:

 Have another adult who is not a party to the
investigation present during your interview with a signed
consent release to share information

 Decline to be interviewed (if you decline to be
interviewed, LD/CPS will make a finding without your
input unless you send in a written response before the
investigation is complete)

 Provide a written response to the allegations and
share any relevant documentation to the investigation
(LD/CPS will include the information in the
investigation and add it to your file)

* You may request public disclosure at
dcyf.publicdisclosure@dcyfwa.gov

Who do | contact if | have concerns about
the investigation?

If you have a concern or complaint about the way your case
was handled, please contact the investigator’s supervisor
first. If you think the issue is unresolved, contact the LD
safety and monitoring area administrator in your region.

You may contact the Office of Constituent Relations at
1-800-723-4831 for assistance at any time.

You may contact the Office of the Family & Children’s
Ombuds” at 1-800-571-7321.

For more information about state laws
that govern LD/CPS, please go to:
http://search.legwa.gov/search.aspx#document

* This agency is separate from DCYF and has authority to
investigate any concerns regarding the Agency.



