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Early Achievers Renewal Rating Policy

Early Achievers ratings are good for three years from participants’ most recent rating release date. This
policy describes the process providers follow to complete their renewal rating.

What:

Who:

Early Achievers Renewal Rating Policy.

Early Achievers participants who have an existing Early Achievers rating and have been rated for
at least 24 months.

When: Twelve months before the third rating anniversary date. Sites must request their first renewal

Why:

How:
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rating on or before their existing anniversary date.

Sites must renew their rating every three years and continue to meet Early Start Act rating
milestones in order to maintain eligibility for Early Childhood Education and Assistance Program
(ECEAP) funding and/or Working Connections Child Care (WCCC) subsidies and tiered
reimbursement. Early Achievers scholarships are available to staff at facilities participating in
Early Achievers. Additionally, rating status is considered when determining priority for the Early
Achievers Grant and Washington Scholarships Program. A site is considered “participating in
Early Achievers” while waiting for renewal.

Twelve months before the rating anniversary, the Primary Contact or Site Contact/Manager will
receive an email reminding them to request their onsite evaluation to renew their rating by
completing a Request for On-Site Evaluation application in MERIT. Sites must request their
rating before their rating anniversary date in order to maintain their status as a rated Early
Achievers participant.

Once the request has been received and reviewed by the state, the Primary Contact or Site
Contact/Manager will receive a confirmation email and the request will be sent to Cultivate
Learning at the University of Washington. The Community Liaison will then contact the site to
discuss the on-site data collection activities.

After data collection has been completed and reviewed for accuracy, the provider will receive
their renewal rating. The date the renewal rating is released will become the site’s updated
rating anniversary date. Providers have 30 days after the rating is released to submit an appeal if
they feel their rating is incorrect.

Providers should refer to the Early Achievers Participant Operating Guidelines for detailed
information on the data collection, rating and appeal processes.
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https://www.sbctc.edu/paying-for-college/early-achievers-student-grant.aspx
https://www.sbctc.edu/paying-for-college/early-achievers-student-grant.aspx
https://childcareawarewa.org/?s=scholarships
https://www.dcyf.wa.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/ea/Early_achievers_operating_guidelines_1.pdf
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Early Achievers Renewal Rating Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How do | request a renewal rating?

You can access and complete the Request for On-Site Evaluation application in MERIT once you
are within twelve months of your three-year rating anniversary date.

What happens if | access the Request for On-Site Evaluation application in MERIT sooner than twelve
months from my three-year rating anniversary date?

You will see the option to request either a Free or Paid Re-Rate. Please wait to request your
renewal rating until you are within twelve months of your three-year rating anniversary date.

When | request a re-rate | can choose which areas | want to be rated in (ERS, CLASS and/or records
review). Why don’t | see these options when | request a renewal rating?

Unlike re-rates, all renewal ratings consist of ERS and CLASS assessments, including new staff
and professional development data. Providers that select the full data collection will also receive
records review during the on-site evaluation.

| am an ECEAP program and/or receive state subsidy for non-school age children. What will happen if |
do not complete my renewal rating?

Providers who do not complete their renewal rating will be at risk of losing their contracted
ECEAP slots and/or state subsidy.

In addition, providers will not be eligible to receive quality improvement awards and tiered
subsidy reimbursements.

What if my renewal rating does not meet the required level for providers receiving state subsidy
(Level 3) or ECEAP programs (Level 4)?

Providers who do not meet their required rating level must engage in remedial activities.
Information on remedial activities can be found in the Early Achievers Remedial Activities Policy.

Early Achievers participants that provide ECEAP, Head Start services or accept Working
Connections Child Care subsidies will be eligible for one free re-rate. Information on re-rating
can be found in the Early Achievers Re-Rate Policy.

Who can | contact if | have questions about the renewal rating process?

For questions about renewal rating, please contact your local Child Care Aware agency, Head
Start Grantee or ECEAP Contractor.

Who can | contact if | need technical assistance in MERIT, or if have additional questions about the
rating renewal process?

Please send an e-mail with your specific questions to QRIS@dcyf.wa.gov.
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https://www.dcyf.wa.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/ea/Remedial_Activities_Policy.pdf
https://www.dcyf.wa.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/ea/EarlyAchievers_ReRate_Policy.pdf
https://childcareawarewa.org/about-us/
mailto:QRIS@dcyf.wa.gov

